Colloquiums Related Organisations Contact us



Friday 10 October


The Hon Justice Ruth McColl AO, President, Judicial Conference of Australia

Official Opening

The Hon Ewan Crawford, Leitenant-Governor and Chief Justice of Tasmania

Keynote Address:

The Hon Justice Virginia Bell, High Court of Australia


Professor Patrick McGorry, Australian of the Year 2010

Saturday 9 October

Panel session: Managing Cases in a Post-Aon World


Australia’s need for judicial resources 2010 – 2040

Professor Brian Opeskin, Macquarie University Population Challenges for the Australian Judiciary: The Next 40 Years (pdf) (732KB)

Drinks and Dinner: Meadowbank Estate

After dinner speaker: Damian Bugg AM QC, Chancellor of the University of Tasmania and former DPP for Tasmania (1986 – 1999) and the Commonwealth (1999 – 2007) The Role of the DPP in the 20th Century (pdf) (70KB)

Sunday 10 October

Juries and Sentencing

Professor Kate Warner, University of Tasmania
Dr Julia Davis, University of South Australia

Refugees and their treatment/management and the application to them of international and domestic law

Dr Michelle Foster, Institute for International Law and the Humanities, Melbourne Law School
Julian Burnside AO QC, Victorian Bar