Colloquiums Related Organisations Contact us

The AJOA is pleased to announce that registrations for the upcoming Colloquium in Hobart have opened. Members may access a registration brochure in the Members’ Section. Non members are asked to contact the Secretariat for a copy of the brochure. Note the Colloquium is open to judicial officers (retired or active) only.


Friday 7 October

The Hon Justice Stephen Gageler AC, High Court of Australia

1300 – 1400 Registration
1315 – 1330  First meeting of the Governing Council to approve the Audited Accounts
1400 – 1415 Welcome
The Hon Justice Glenn Martin AM, AJOA President
Formal Opening
Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC, Governor of Tasmania
1415 – 1500 Keynote Address
1530 – 1630 The Plight of Women Judges in Afghanistan: when international judicial collegiality matters
Interviews with Female Afghan Judges; Facilitated Question and Answer Session
Chaired by President Fleur Kingham, Land Court of Queensland and Judge Robyn Tupman, District Court of New South Wales
1730 – 1930 Welcome Function (partners welcome)


Saturday 8 October

0900 – 1000 Judicial Independence
The Hon Chris Kourakis, Chief Justice of South Australia
Dr Joe McIntyre, University of South Australia
1030 – 1200 Australian Courts and the Extraterritorial Operation of Laws
The Hon Andrew Bell, Chief Justice of New South Wales
The Hon Justice Mark Moshinsky, Federal Court of Australia
1300 – 1330 Annual General Meeting
1330 – 1500 Governing Council Meeting
1830 – 2215 Colloquium Dinner
Guest speaker Jarrod Rawlins, Director, Curatorial Affairs, MONA


Sunday 9 October

0845 – 0930 From Boomers to Gen-Z: Adjusting to technology inside and outside the courtroom post-COVID
The Hon Justice Michael Wheelahan, Federal Court of Australia
Mr Murali Sagi, Acting Chief Executive, Judicial Commission of New South Wales
0930 – 1105 Wellbeing and Leadership
Lessons from the Coen Brothers’ Fargo
The Hon Peter Quinlan, Chief Justice of Western Australia
Workplace systems to promote wellbeing
Ms Melinda Upton, Chair, Minds Count
1125 – 1210 International Rules-Based Order
Prof Rob McLaughlin, Australian National Centre for Oceans Resources and Security
1210 – 1225 Colloquium Close
1225 – 1310 Farewell Lunch